Life & Technology

Handful lessons in different areas of technology and life in general.

Globe Tattoo Firmware Update

Today, I updated my Globe Tattoo E1552 model firmware found on the Globe Tattoo website. According to the website, “The upgrade process replaces the existing firmware in the USB device with a new one that allows you to call and send texts”. But I think my device is already capable of sending text messages using the software application embedded on it, I just don’t know if older models do not have this capability. I am interested on the call part of the upgrade that’s why I went and tried it on my device.

Downloaded the Firmware for E1552 Model and executing the first exe, E1552Update_11.608.14.11.158.B416.exe and the next is the UTPS11.300.05.18.158_MAC11.301.06.08.158.exe. The upgrade is freaking easy and takes no more 5 minutes of your time. After the upgrade finished, I opened up the Globe Broadband application to verify if the new feature is installed.

New UI of Globe Broadband

As we can see on the image above, the Globe Broadband is now sporting a new icon with text “Call” on it on the top menu bar and the UI to dial a number. I switched on my speaker and start test dialling the number 222 and immediately I heard the response voice! This is very very good news to me as it simplifies and maximizes the usage of my Globe Tattoo! I also noticed the carrier name is being changed from WCDMA GLOBE to 3G GLOBE. The rest looks the same and unchanged.

And I verify if my firmware is changed:

globe_fw_update

There I have it, the Firmware version is the same as to the name of the file above.

Without having to look at Sun Cellular website, I think this update is also applicable to the USB sticks provided by Sun Cellular as they carry the same brand and differs in model.

4 responses to “Globe Tattoo Firmware Update

  1. vince June 6, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Sir, Good day! I’m using globe tattoo e1552 having a problem on upgrading my firmware. It’s always stuck on the part saying “backup”.. Any Idea?

    • earljon June 6, 2010 at 2:14 pm

      Vince,

      For better answer, please check official page of Globe for the FAQ regarding problems encountered in upgrading your E1552 as I didn’t encounter such an error, thus cannot give you any solution that might help you with.

  2. iQy August 31, 2010 at 7:18 am

    boss kalo mau update firmware’a byar speed’a jadi 7,2 Mbps
    ada gak ya firmware’a???

  3. joel November 26, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    my e160 is updated but it so happen that the signal is lost / during manual check for the signal smart3G are the only signal i receive why why why??????

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

